RSS

Equinox

17 Aug

The question of the significance of the equinoxs has been raised recently on the Caer Feddwyd forum. The general consensus was that these were largely insignificant for the majority. I am one though, for whom this is not true. My own seasonal rituals have always been solar based and I don’t particularly connect with some of the cultural fire festivals. I believe that this is because my own interactions are and continue to, mainly, eminate through the medium of the land and the collective of ancestors. This means the interactions are based in physicality, and because the sun is a physical entity, I believe this is why the solar festivals are significant for me. The collective of ancestors were also, initially, based in physicality (although it is my understanding that not all of them have experienced the physical) so the link continues for me.

It is my experience that the equinoxs are a time when the year tips from light to dark or vice versa and this time of change is experienced by me pretty much as a time that most Pagans would associate with Samhain, the thinning of the veils. Another connection that makes my experiences with the equinoxs so much more than the general experience within Brython is that both of my parents were born on each of the equinoxs so it’s possible that my experiences are somewhat unusual.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 17, 2011 in Cosmological Worldview

 

Leave a Reply

 
